If you experience chronic fatigue, headaches, stress, insomnia, have difficulty setting boundaries, and your emotions are either completely out of control or completely shut down—these can all be some signs that your chakras are imbalanced.

The seven major chakras are energy centers located along the spinal column and are associated with different aspects of our mind-body connection. When these energy centers are in balance and functioning as they should, we experience vibrant health and wellness in both mind and body.

Unfortunately, most people are walking around with a dysregulated chakra system which can cause an entire host of unwanted physical and mental symptoms.

These chakras typically become imbalanced as the result of some kind of trauma. This can be an extreme one-time event like an injury that throws everything out of alignment, or it can be the result of chronic ongoing trauma like experiencing an illness or being stuck in a stressful job or an abusive relationship.

Healing requires a multi-faceted approach, and addressing the imbalances in your chakra system is a great way to complement whatever healing practices you’re already doing. You may even find that you’re already naturally gravitating toward the things that are going to bring you back to a balanced state because the mind and body are always seeking that equilibrium.

Three of our favorite ways to balance the chakras are with yoga, crystals and reiki.

How to Balance Your Chakras with Yoga

The chakras are all connected to parts of your physical body and have a two-way relationship with one another. This means that the energy of your chakras affects your physical body, and we can also use the physical body to influence the chakras.

Yoga poses open up the body and start to move and direct energy where it needs to go. To help you get started, you can try these poses:

  1. Standing poses like tree pose are great for the Root Chakra.
  2. Hip openers like bound angle pose can help to open the Sacral Chakra.
  3. Spinal twists charge up your Solar Plexus Chakra and stimulate your digestive system.
  4. Backbends like cobra pose open up your Heart Chakra.
  5. Bridge pose brings energy into the Throat Chakra.
  6. Child’s Pose calms and balances the Third Eye Chakra.
  7. And meditation is best for the Crown Chakra.

Click here to try a FREE chakra balancing yoga class for all seven of the major chakras.

How to Balance Your Chakras with Crystals

As a general rule of thumb, if the crystal is the same color as the chakra you’re working on, it will help to balance that chakra. There are exceptions to this rule, but it’s always a good place to start. Here are some examples:

  1. Red Jasper – supports the Root Chakra
  2. Orange Calcite – supports the Sacral Chakra
  3. Tiger’s Eye – supports the Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. Green Aventurine – supports the Heart Chakra
  5. Turquoise – supports the Throat Chakra
  6. Lapis Lazuli – supports the Third Eye Chakra
  7. Amethyst – supports the Crown Chakra

You can utilize crystal healing by holding them in your hands while you meditate. You can also place crystals directly on whichever chakra is in need of healing.

Click here to browse chakra healing crystals and kits!

How to Balance Your Chakras with Reiki

Much like yoga, Reiki is a technique for moving energy through the body in order to create relaxation and improved health and vitality. It involves meeting with a practitioner who has been attuned to receive, direct and transmute universal life force energy. These practitioners work to balance the entire energy body, which includes the chakra system, with the ultimate goal of healing and preventing illness.

During a reiki session, you will remain fully clothed and lie down on a table while your practitioner gently places their hands on your body where each of these chakras is located. Depending on your practitioner, they may use a combination of gentle touch, guided visualization, breath work, and energetically charged symbols to move energy through your body.

This process helps to remove any trauma that has been stored in your energy system so that you can get back to balance.

This technique is also great for stress-relief, chronic pain, fatigue and regulating the nervous system.

Contact us today to set up your reiki session with one of our experienced practitioners!

Healing is a process. It can take some time to restore balance in the chakra system, so it will require some consistency and patience. If you want the effects of your healing practices to last, it will also require removal from the situations and environments that caused the imbalance in the first place. Otherwise, your chakra system will become imbalanced all over again.

Keep going and trust that you’re always on the right path!

About the author: 
Rachel Talan is a certified trauma-sensitive yoga teacher, reiki master and tarot reader. You can practice online classes with her at santoshaspirit.com.

These practices and information are not meant to diagnose, treat or cure any illness and should not be used as a substitute for professional medical care. As with any exercise program, you take the risk of personal injury when you practice yoga. By participating in these practices, you acknowledge this risk and release Rachel Marie and Sleepy Santosha from any liability. You are responsible for your own body’s well being. Please consult with your physician prior to beginning exercise.